Saturday, July 20, 2019

Geography of Haiti ‘The Remarkable Caribbean Island’

Haiti is a beautiful country of the size of 27,750 square kilometers, which is located in the Caribbean island of Hispaniola. It occupies the Western fraction of the La Isla Española (Hispaniola Island). Haiti has two enchanting peninsulas, which is separated by Ile de la Gonâve landscape. The country is horseshoe shaped and it is of the size of the State of Maryland.

There are three primary mainland regions in Haiti, the Northern region, the Central region and the Southern region. Many nearby small Islands are also controlled by the Government of Haiti. The Northern peninsula of Haiti is bordered by the Windward Passage, a channel of water that separates the Hispaniola Island and Cuba. Beautiful distant view of the Cuban Island can be grasped, which is ninety kilometers away from Haiti. Dominican Republic borders the Eastern edge of the country.

The 388 kilometers of Eastern border is partly formed by the Massacre River in the North, and Pedernales River in the South.The Northern region comprises of Northern peninsula, which includes Northern Massif (Massif du Nord) and Northern Plain (Plaine du Nord). Massif du Nord is a Central mountain range that extends from the Dominican Republic. In Haiti, this mountain range begins at the Eastern border of the country, from the North of Guayamouc River. Through the Northern peninsula, this range extends towards the Northwestern end, with varying altitudes between 600 meters to 1,100 meters. Plaine du Nord is located between the North Atlantic Ocean and Massif du Nord. It is 30 kilometers wide and 150 kilometers long, spreading almost 2,000 square kilometers of the lowland area.

The Central region includes two sets of mountain ranges and two plains. The Central Plateau (Plateau Central) is thirty kilometers wide and it starts from Southeast of the country towards the Northwest. It runs along both sides of the Guayamouc River from the South of Massif du Nord. Montagnes Noires lies towards the Southwest of the Central Plateau, which rises up to 600 meters. Montagnes du Trou d'Eau lies towards the South of this plain, basically, an extension of Sierra de Neiba range that extends from the Dominican Republic.

The Southern region includes mountainous Southern peninsula and Plaine du Cul-de-Sac, which is a twelve kilometers wide natural depression. The mountains in the Southern peninsula are the extension of the mountain chain from Dominican Republic. The highest peak of this mountain range in Haiti is approximately 2,715 meters.

Haitian territory includes few Islands of distinguishable size which are Ile à Vache, Grande Cayemite, Tortuga Island (Ile de la Tortue) and Ile de la Gonâve. Grande Cayemite lies toward the North of Southern peninsula. Ile à Vache is situated towards the South of the Southern peninsula. Ile de la Tortue is stituated towards the North of the Northern peninsula, which is separated by a twelve kilometer channel from the city of Port-de-Paix. Ile de la Gonâve is fifteen kilometers wide and sixty kilometers long with hills rising up to the heights of 760 meters.

No comments:

Post a Comment